RSS

Heritage & Legacy: What Will You Leave Behind?

19 Aug

YouTube Video

Transcript:
Our texts this week come from Genesis 15, Hebrews 11, and Luke 12.

In Genesis, Abraham is concerned about heirs and descendants.

In Hebrews, we reference Abraham as our ancestor and we the descendants in faith.

And, in Luke 12, Jesus is talking about where do you store up your treasures? Do you store them here on earth where rust, and moth, and time can reach them? Or are they stored up in heaven?

I see these texts as dealing with two sides of the same coin: heritage and legacy. Heritage is what we receive from generations of past, while legacy is what we hand off to the next generation.

While my family and I were in Victoria, B.C. we toured Craigdarroch Castle, a beautiful and magnificent home built by a Scotsman with questionable business ethics. His son followed in his steps and had to build a bigger, more beautiful, more magnificent home, which we would recognize as Xavier’s School for the Gifted in the X-Men series. That is their heritage and legacy.

My ex-husband once said ‘I only have one question about your family’.
“You only have ONE question about my family”.

He responded your family is the stereotypical Irish family. You have the clan mentality.

[And to be honest, my clan extends beyond the bloodline, but I would do anything for my clan.]

His question was how did my mom and her biological siblings end up going from Indiana to Arizona. It basically boiled down to my mom’s three biological brothers decided to move to Arizona. My mother followed suit and my grandmother did after my grandpa passed away.

That heritage of the clan mentality, of family as being central, is the heritage I gained from my great-grandmother, my grandmother, my mother, and its a legacy my sister and I are continuing in.

Last week, I asked ‘why are we so busy, [and] what was the purpose.’ The purpose is to build a legacy. We all want to leave a legacy. But what is that legacy?

Are you building one that is brick and mortar and wood that may not stand the test of time?

Or are you building a legacy of family? of faith? of hope? of love? of service?

My prayer is that we, as individuals, as families, as communities, as country, and as world, that we seek to build a legacy that glorifies God. Amen. 

Scriptures: Genesis 15: 1-6; Hebrews 11: 1-3, 8-16; and Luke 12: 32-40.
Originally Preached on 07 August 2016

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 19, 2016 in Sermon Summaries

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
